top of page

Yoga in The Shard

Yoga from the 24th floor of the Shard overlooking views of Tower Hill and the City of London

​​

Last weekend I was lucky enough to be a student in a Yoga class at the Shard. These classes are run by the company Yogasphere and my teacher was Mandy Jhamat who co-founded the company with her partner Leo Lourdes.

As much as I love it, teaching on top of a full time job takes up a lot of my time and means I don’t get to attend classes as a student as much as I would like. I am therefore always grateful when I have some time to myself to go and attend a class so that I can switch off without having to either teach or plan my own self practice. Doing an extra special class at the Shard felt like such a treat and I had been looking forward to doing it for ages.

When I got to the 24th floor and saw the fantastic views of London it felt really special. I had been up to the Shard a few times, to the top floor viewing platform and for drinks in the bars. For me enjoying the views whilst doing one of my favourite things was the best way to appreciate the experience. The views are of Tower Hill and the City surrounding the Thames. This has always been my favourite view of London. It also has strong personal memories for me because it is where I stayed in a hotel with my parents on my first trip to London as a child, and fell in love with the City. When I moved to London as an adult, I took my first job here at London Bridge and lived just a short walk away.

The Sunday class I attended was a Vinyasa flow style class. It was fairly gentle but there were some positions which used more strength and were challenging with having to hold them for longer lengths of time. There was a good warm up, helping us tune into our breath, and a good mix of standing postures, floor work, twists, backbends, stretches and strength work. I liked the style and it was similar to the style I teach.

It was a mixed class with a beginner, average and advance level yogis. The style was well suited to all levels so everyone seemed to enjoy it and get what they needed from the practice. There was the lovely light and joyful feeling at the end of class when students walk around feeling relaxed, happier and uplifted. Everyone was very sociable and stayed to chat and take photos for a while at the end of the class.

Who can do it?

  • Anyone!

  • Beginners are welcome

  • Injuries or pregnancies – just let the instructor know and they will help you modify your practice appropriately.

What do you need to bring?

  • Yoga mats are provided so you don’t need to bring one

  • Comfy yoga clothes

  • Camera to take pictures of the views (but you are not able to take photos of the class as the other participants may not want to be photographed – hence no photos of us in action!)

When you arrive:

  • It is recommended you arrive 15 minutes before the start of the class so that there is time to go through security. I went on a Sunday but I imagine it is busier in the week when there are more people working in the Shard.

  • Bring ID for security

  • I recommend you come dressed ready for the class but there are toilets once you get up to the 24th floor, if you want to get changed or use the loo

  • You are given a guest pass to get up to the floor where your class is taking place, the instructor will be waiting in the room to greet you. Make sure you get your name checked off because if not they will assume you didn’t turn up and you will be charged an additional £5 no show fee.

  • You can leave your bags and shoes in the area outside where the class takes place

  • You can take photos of the views before or after the class.

  • After that you are ready to take your spot and prepare to start the class!

Other Recommendations:

  • Try and pick a good weather day if you can so that you get the most out of the view. I went in June and I suppose summer months might be a better option to avoid the risk of bad weather and a dull foggy day.

  • I recommend you get there in good time so that you have time to appreciate the view and take any photos. You might also want to get a good spot in the class but all positions look out onto the view and there is only one row of mats.

When are the classes held?

  • The class schedule is on the Yogasphere website. The classes on the 24th level are held on weekday evenings and at weekends.

  • Yoga on the top level is 8.30am Saturdays

  • Yogasphere also hold other classes around London, as well as retreats abroad. More information can be found on the website.

How to book your class:

  • You can book online direct with Yogasphere (www.yogasphere.eu)

  • I know that ClassPass have offered this option as one of their classes in your bundle. Other companies offer as part of a gift package

Good Points:

  • Amazing views, obviously!

  • You feel like you are out of London because you are lifted up high and away from the hustle and bustle. When you look out across London it actually feels like the city is really peaceful and calm because everything is so small and it looks like everything is moving so slowly. All the little cars and buses are just gently floating along the roads.

  • Being between the clouds and the sky is incredibly relaxing

  • Good class size of around 12, compared for example with the classes at Sky Garden which have up to 80 students. The teacher can therefore concentrate on meeting the class needs with a smaller class, including making adjustments.

  • Great to do a class in a different location and break the routine of the usual Sunday morning gym class

  • You meet new people who love yoga as much as you do! We chatted loads about yoga – my favourite topic of conversation!

  • I went on my own but it would be a great activity to do with friends. I know I won’t need to work hard at convincing my friends, who are into yoga, to come with me when I want to go back and do this again!

  • I did the class on the hottest week of the year so I was slightly worried it was going to be like being in a greenhouse with all the glass. I wasn’t up for hot yoga! Luckily we are in the 21st century so there was air conditioning and the room was a good temperature. A welcome escape from the heat outside!

  • I love the fact that yoga is about doing something good for yourself and taking time for you. This feels like such a treat and we all deserve a treat every now and again.

Bad points:

  • If you are afraid of heights this is not for you!

  • Slightly corporate feel to the room but the view is the main focus

Overall Verdict:

Yoga in the clouds is a perfect way to enjoy yoga and doing yoga in the Shard is for me the best way to enjoy the views of the Shard. You feel like you escape the busy, often stressful London way of life but can enjoy the best and most beautiful views of the city!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page