© 2017 by Sarah Lucy Yoga

December 24, 2019

September 1, 2019

February 17, 2019

February 12, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

Business Awards 2018

November 10, 2018

Please reload

Featured Posts

Quadricep Muscles

August 23, 2018


The Quadriceps are the large muscle group at the front of the thigh. The quads are divided into four distinct portions and act to extend the leg.




  • At the front of the Thigh.

  • All four parts of the quadriceps group come from the tibial tuberosity (the bump of the tibia located just below the kneecap).

  • The other ends of the muscles attach at different places.

  • Tension in this muscle can affect the hip joint.



  1. Vastus Medialis – attached to the femur on the inside

  2. Vastus Lateralis - attached to the femur on the outside

  3. Vastus Intermedius - attached to the femur between the above

  4. Rectus Femoris – crosses the knee and the hip joint and attaches to the pelvis (not the femur). It can create movement of the hip and knee because it is a two joint muscle (it can affect the movement of two joints).


Yoga implications:

The quadriceps can restrict several movements in yoga postures:

  • e.g. Hero Pose (Virasana) - restriction through not allowing the knees to flex completely.

  • e.g. Backbends – restrict the ability to posteriorly tilt the pelvis.


Further reading:

This is one of the muscle groups that can have an impact on the hip joint. Read more about the Hip Joint in a separate article.

You can also read separate articles on other muscles around the hip joint:

  1. The Quadriceps (this article is one of the articles in the series)

  2. The Hamstrings

  3. The Adductors

  4. The Gluteals

  5. The Deep Six Lateral Rotators

  6. The Psoas


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us